This Abandoned Mental Hospital Is Said To Be Haunted – 25 Pics

Posted: September 27, 2014 in Amazing, Cool Stuff, Creepy
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

These pictures taken by Sarah DeRemer are of an abandoned psychiatric hospital called Gonjiam in South Korea.

The run-down mental hospital is reportedly one of the most haunted places on Earth and even if you don’t believe in ghost stories this place will send shivers down your spine.

Despite its current state of spine-tingling disarray, the hospital was fully functioning in 1995,
full of patients, doctors and nurses.

old_mental_hospital_16
Flickr / Sarah DeRemer

Local legend has it that the allegedly clinically insane owner kept the tormented there as his prisoners.
old_mental_hospital_01
Flickr / Sarah DeRemer

The mental hospital was shut down in 1996 when the owner is said to have fled to America when
Government officials came investigating reports of numerous patients being mysteriously
found dead with no explanations given to their grieving families.
old_mental_hospital_02

Flickr / Sarah DeRemer

Since then the remaining structure has been left to let nature take its course,
although the rooms are still filled with furniture, clothing and medical records.

old_mental_hospital_04

The building stand complete with rusted out machines, hospital remnants,
trash, and filthy mattresses, adding to its creepy and haunted reputation.
old_mental_hospital_05

This is of course if you believe in scary stories.

old_mental_hospital_03
Flickr / Sarah DeRemerA more believable story is that Gonjiam was forced to close mainly
due to economic downturns, unsanitary conditions and problems
with the sewage disposal system, not due to insane doctors or murderous patients.
old_mental_hospital_06
Flickr / Sarah DeRemer
As the sewage problem grew, the owner left the country and did not leave
documentation behind about the land or the buildings on it, thus forcing its closure.
The hospital has been abandoned ever since, unless you count the numerous tourists,
camera crews, and ghost hunters who come to stroll through the area, looking
for evidence of paranormal activity or the proverbial skeletons in the closets of the asylum.
old_mental_hospital_12Flickr / Sarah DeRemer

No matter what you believe, we can all agree that Gonjiam is one scary looking place…

Source: Viralnova

Comments
  1. Carter Vail says:

    Thank you for sharing! I love old abandoned buildings. The photography is beautiful!

    Like

  2. Siobhan says:

    I will right away snatch your rss feed as I can’t find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please permit me realize so that I may just subscribe.
    Thanks.

    Like

    • AneurisM says:

      Hi Siobhan!!
      Thanks so much for pointing that out to me!
      I will fix that asap. Thanks for your support!
      I’m new at this, so it might take a day or 2, but if you check back tomorrow, I hope to have it working.
      Have a great day! ~AneurisM ☠

      Like

  3. Edmund says:

    This paragraph offers clear idea for the new
    people of blogging, that truly how to do running a blog.

    Like

  4. There’s certainly a great deal to find out about this issue.
    I like all the points you’ve made.

    Like

  5. There’s certainly a great deal to learn about this issue.

    I love all the points you made.

    Like

  6. I have been browsing online more than 3 hours these
    days, but I by no means found any attention-grabbing article like
    yours. It’s beautiful value enough for me. In my view, if all
    site owners and bloggers made excellent content material as
    you did, the web will probably be much more useful than ever
    before.

    Like

  7. I’m extremely impressed along with your writing
    talents and also with the structure in your blog.

    Is this a paid subject matter or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way stay up the nice high quality writing, it is uncommon to see
    a nice blog like this one these days..

    Like

  8. You ought to take part in a contest for one of the highest quality sites on the net.
    I will highly recommend this website!

    Like

  9. red nunchuk says:

    Because it emphasizes physical and mental development, its influence extends to every area of a person’s life.

    And yes we can debate all day and night about what
    martial arts’ “true” purpose is. Parents are concerned about their children and want them to
    grow up right.

    Like

  10. sbo says:

    I have been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts
    on this kind of space . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this website.
    Reading this info So i’m satisfied to convey that I’ve a very
    excellent uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed.
    I so much certainly will make certain to don?t omit this web site and provides
    it a glance on a continuing basis.

    Like

  11. Dwight says:

    A motivating discussion is worth comment. I think that
    you need to write more about this issue, it may not be a taboo matter
    but typically people do not speak about these topics.
    To the next! All the best!!

    Like

  12. Youu really mak it appear so easy along with your presentation howevver I find
    this matter to be actually something which I believe I miyht by no means understand.
    It seems too complex and very wjde for me. I aam taking a
    look ahead for your subsequent put up, I’ll attempt to get the grasp of it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

